Honoring Your Sailors

Annapolis Yacht Club’s Evening of Champions awards ceremony was held on January 11, 2024, at the Club’s Sailing Center. The event celebrated members’ 2023 achievements on racecourses around the world, serving as race officials, coaches and racers ranging from youth sailors, amateurs, and professionals to interclub racers. The evening included the debut of a new AYC trophy: The Gary Jobson Perpetual Trophy—an annual award to recognize Annapolis Yacht Club’s Most Outstanding Racing Sailor.

Commodore Tim Cusack honored 45-year AYC member and international sailing legend Gary Jobson. The Club dedicated this new perpetual trophy in Jobson’s name to recognize the profound positive impact he has made on the sport of sailing as an America’s Cup winner, champion racer, author, media commentator and leader. The Jobson Perpetual Trophy will be presented annually and will recognize the highest racing achievement by a Club member in a calendar year.

This year, Pan Am Gold medalist and 2023 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Finalist, Allan Terhune, Jr., was awarded the Jobson Trophy for his multiclass international victories and exemplary sportsmanship at the international level.

A crowd of more than 100 delivered a standing ovation in recognition of a Club legend and the evening’s emcee, Gary Jobson, and in honor of winner, Allan Terhune Jr.

Terhune’s had an extraordinary 2023 on the water, including multiple championship victories and a demonstration of sportsmanship across the Lightning, MC Scow, 6 Meter, J/70, and ORC classes. In November, Terhune and his team of Madeline Gill Baldridge and Sarah Chin broke the United States’ 24- year drought in Pan Am Games Gold medals in the Lightning class with a convincing win at the 2023 Pan Am Games in Chile. Terhune and team also won the 2023 Lightning North American Championship (Terhune’s fourth Lightning North American Championship). Not only did Terhune win a historic gold medal at the Pan Am Games, but he and his team also demonstrated the highest level of sportsmanship when they gave their spare mast and rigging to a Canadian team of their competitors after they broke their mast. AYC recognized Terhune for his unprecedented racing achievements and his unwavering commitment to the Corinthian spirit and service as a role model by putting the needs of a competitor above his own. Terhune collected several wins across multiple classes at the national and international levels. In addition to his Gold Medal at the Pan Am Games and Lightning North American Championship, Terhune’s 2023 achievements included winning the MC Scow Nationals against 80 teams (defending his 2022 title) and winning the MC Scow Midwinters championship. Sailing in what is a new class for him, Terhune served as winning tactician at the 6 Meter Worlds in the UK, adding to his multiple World Championship titles. Offshore, Terhune led teams to the podium in the 2023 Chicago-Mac Race, Block Island Race Week, and at the NYYC Annual Regatta.

In addition to Jobson and Terhune, the ceremony celebrated an array of impressive AYC sailors including Katja Sertl, two-time US Sailing US Women’s Match Race Champion; Jimmy Praley, Austin Powers, and Max Vinocur for their Viper North American Championship win; Sandy Askew for her Cape 31 UK series victory; esteemed International Race Officers Sandy Grosvenor and Taran Teague; and Under-25 Champions and Olympic Development athletes Leo Boucher and James Golden. The J/105 fleet was honored as “Fleet of the Year” for their success and for growing the sport of sailing locally and nationally. AYC Fleet Surgeon Dr. Pen Alexander summarized the evening, calling it a “historic and exceptional night in the life of Annapolis Yacht Club.”